I’m No Brooke Shields

Lindsay here.  Have hijacked the blog again from my mum. 

So I FINALLY just made an appointment to get my eyebrows waxed and it brought up a memory I had repressed for years because of extreme embarrassment. When I was in the 6th grade, my best friend and neighbor was Pamela Jarvis. Since Pam was a year older than me, I thought she was the coolest thing since sliced bread. Pam got her eyebrows waxed and she looked so cool and mature. I obviously had to do the same. Now for those of you who know my mum, you know she is not the girliest of girls. This being said, there was NO WAY I was asking her to get my eyebrows done. Instead, I took it upon myself to do the job. Fun fact: when plucking your eyebrows as a 6th grader, it is the hardest thing to make them even. When I decided that enough damage had been done and I probably wouldn’t have eyebrows left if I kept plucking, I set the tweezers down. My eyebrows were thinner than Twizzlers.   Given Twizzlers are one of my dad’s favorite candies, I didn’t think him and my mum would appreciate this new look I was rocking.  I think I probably hid in my room for the rest of the night till it was time for school the next day. I’m not really sure what my mum said, but I’m sure it was something like, “Well buck up Linds. They’ll grow back!”   Then sent me to school with a nice pat on the back.  Walking up to the bus stop, I prayed that no one would notice. Yowza.  I was wrong.   6th grade boys are VICIOUS. “Lindsay, where’d your eyebrows run off to?” “Lindsay did you shave your eyebrows off?”  Should have used a Bic Black Permanent Marker before walking out the door.  

So the moral of the story – Even if you don’t have a girly mom, still ask her to take you to get your eyebrows done. Don’t make it into your own episode of Extreme Makeover!

 Au revoir,

Lindsay

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m No Brooke Shields

  1. Danielle says:

    Love this and I remember it all too well…in fact I still have pictures! hehehe 😉

  2. Lindsay says:

    I too have embarrassing pictures dear sister 😉

Leave a Reply

